HALAL & JHF

Definition of Halal and our mission.

TOP>HALAL & JHF>Food Source

Food Source

Halal animals

The following animals are Halal in Islam:

  1. Livestock (cattle, sheep, goats, camels, chicken, geese, ducks, turkey etc.).
  2. Non-predatory animals (deer, big horn sheep, gaurs, zebras etc.).
  3. Non-predatory birds (pigeons, sparrows, partridges, ostriches etc.).

All these animals must be properly slaughtered and invoked in the name of Allah during the slaughter.

Haram animals

The following animals are Haram in Islam:

  1. Reptile, slugs, ants, rat, crocodiles, and gavials.
  2. Predatory birds of prey such as falcons, eagles, vultures, crows, owls and etc.
  3. Animals with long pointed teeth or tusks which are used to kill prey such as tigers, bears, elephants, cats, monkeys, wolves, squirrels, other similar cats, hyenas, moles, hippopotamus, dogs and etc.
  4. Animals dead through falling from a height, horn-butted animal and/or fatally beaten animals.
  5. Animals which dies a naturally death.
  6. Pigs, snakes, monkeys and similar species.
  7. Animals that are not slaughtered in the name of Allah.
  8. Animals that are not slaughtered according to Islamic Law
  9. Animals which are considered repulsive such as scorpions, flies, maggots, bedbugs, spiders and other similar species.
  10. Animals that forbidden to be killed in Islam such as bees, wasps, hornets, and woodpecker.
  11. Donkey, Mule(offspring of a mare and an ass)
  12. Halal animals that grown up by pig’s milk.

Food of Plant Origin

All plants and plants products are considered lawful in Islam except plants and plants products that are poisonous or hazardous to health that is bound to be Haram with exception. If those poison or hazardous factors have been removed completely, it will be Halal.

Blood and those are discharged from human and animals

All types of blood and blood based products are Haram according to Islamic Law. Liquid and agents that been discharged from any organ or wound of human or animal such as urine, placenta, waste, vomit, pus, sperm and embryo ovum of all species animals are Haram.

Food Group Classification

Meat and meat products

Meat from Halal animals sources must be properly slaughtered by Muslims with invocation by the name of Allah during slaughter. Food additives such as preservative for meat and meat products must not contain Haram ingredients or any process and process aid which do not meet Islamic Law.

Milk and dairy products

Milk and dairy products of Halal animals are considered Halal. Food additives such as yeast which makes milk transform to yogurt, rennin and gelatins, those are must not made from Haram products. Milk products should not contain Haram ingredients or any process does not meet Islamic Law.

Eggs and eggs products

Eggs and eggs products of the Halal animals are considered halal. Eggs products should not contain Haram ingredients.

Cereal and cereal products, vegetable and animal oils and fats, sugar and confectionery products

Oils and fats, agents that are caused of spoiling (microbial agents), preservatives, enzymes, hormones, colorants, gelatins, food additives and other similar item that added to cereal and cereal products, vegetables and animal oils and fats, fruits and vegetables, sugar and confectionery products must not be made of Haram ingredients or any process does not meet Islamic Law.

Genetically modified food

Genetically modified food and products or its components must not be made from Haram genetic materials.

Food additives

Food additives must come from halal source and not made from Haram ingredients such as alcohol is prohibited.

Packaging materials

Must fulfill the following criteria:

  1. The packaging material is not prepared, processed or manufactured using equipment that is contaminated with Haram thing.
  2. The packaging materials shall not be made from Haram raw materials.
  3. During the preparation, processing, storage or transportation of packaging materials, it shall be physically separated from any other packaging material that does not meet the requirements stated in item above or any other Haram things.
  4. The packaging material does not contain any raw materials that are considered hazardous to human health.

Other Products

Products and products groups that not stated in the classification above, those are not made from Haram ingredients and not processed the use of alcohol and alcohol products.

Dietary Supplement

Dietary supplement shall not be made from or derived from Haram things neither from animals nor hazardous/poisonous plants. It must not contain Haram things or any process that does not meet Islamic Law. Enzymes that are used as a processing aid on finished goods that should come from halal sources such as halal plants and animals, non-intoxicating, non-hazardous to human health and genetically modified organism of halal sources and those should be specified in label.

Micro-organism

All micro-organism are considered halal in Islamic Law except those that are poisonous, intoxicating or hazardous to human health and must be originated from halal sources.

Drinks

All kind of water and non-alcohol beverages are considered halal except those are poisonous, intoxicating or hazardous to health. All kinds of alcohol beverages such as wine, liquor, beer, cider (fruits that fermented until it consists alcohol) and other similar item are considered Haram according to Islamic Law. Thus to be used in cooking or adding to dessert is also considered Haram. Food additives such as colorants, preservatives added to beverages should not be made from Haram ingredients or any process that does not meet Islamic Law and harmless.